Functional Training Week 3 Training Recap

This week felt like a real training week for the first time in a long while. Since I put a lot of effort into some strength training exercises and speedwork, I backed off a little in regards to distance. While I continue to build strength, I think my weekly distance might stay on the shorter side of what I want but marathon training will be here again before I know it.

Monday, June 13, 2016
The increase in my pace thanks to just a couple modifications to my form is mindboggling. My legs still felt Saturday’s race effort so I shaved some time off the run and thought that I would try to run easy, a slower pace. I spent most of the run trying to make myself slow down. My second mile was 8:36. Whoops. Too fast. I had to walk a few times just to slow myself down. The other splits were still below 9:30. My inner right thigh was a little sore (it was a little sore Sunday) for just a little around the last half mile but nothing significant. I definitely still have a lot to learn.

Tuesday, June 14, 2016
The worst part of this ride was the fact that the gym decided to imitate the outside weather by turning the AC down. I don’t usually leave dripping in sweat after a ride. Fun times. Other than that this ride went well. I pushed hard and enjoyed the ride.

Wednesday, June 15, 2016
This tempo run was tough. I had to stop and take a breather at the 15 out of 20 minute mark to catch my breath and let the nausea (from pushing so hard) subside a little. My form felt amazing. Now I just need to have my fitness level catch up.

Thursday, June 16, 2016
We tried a new “ball routine” at the end. Instead of throwing a small weighted ball while standing on a bosu, we threw a large weighted ball side to side. So fun. I tried to push hard although I did skip one of the leg exercises. My legs are still sore from Tuesday.

Friday, June 17, 2016
This run was supposed to be 45 minutes. I made the executive decision to cut it down to 30 but then I can’t do math on the run and ended p with 34. I have had several tough workouts in a row (functional training Tuesday, speedwork Wednesday, strength training Thursday) which have left my legs quite fatigued. The super-humid air didn’t help either. I’m not training for anything now so there’s no need to beat up my legs any more than I need to. I will be stretching and foam rolling for sure.

Saturday, June 18, 2016
Originally I had intended to run 90 minutes which was 30 minutes shorter than the 120 minutes I entered on the schedule. I cut the time down the first time so that I would be able to get everything done before heading over to church to set up for the shower. The shave of 25 minutes came when we first started. Both mom and I pushed hard in our strength training workout Thursday. My legs had recovered a little bit more than hers but I could feel the work I put into them midweek (functional training session, speedwork, strength training) so I offered to run just 60 minutes. Then I would be sure to have enough time to get everything done. Mom loved the idea. We ended up running 65 instead of 60 because Mom wanted to get to 7 miles. The weather, temperature-wise, for this run was much better than recently although it was still humid. The wind joined the party though which helped us stay cool and gave us a challenge when we tried to put on a little speed at the end. It felt a little like running into a wall. Like I have been, I spent most of the run focusing on the three tips: lean forward, arms at 90 degrees, feet under me. Our pace throughout was pretty good and would have been under 9 minutes if we hadn’t walked through our fuel breaks. I don’t mind though. This is just the early stage of rebuilding my base the right way. I’m ready to put in the work.

Sunday, June 19, 2016
It’s nice as usual to have a rest day. my right calf felt slightly tight so I did a little more stretching and foam rolling just in case. Other than that, I think my legs have finally mostly recovered from the tough workouts I put them through this week.

Leave a comment

Filed under running, training recap, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

